Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

constantly lower frets

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Ingemar, May 8, 2005.

1. Ingemar

Ingemar

Sep 12, 2000
    Sweden
    Why aren't bassfretboards build so that the nextcomming fret are a tiny,tiny,little,little bit lower than the closest before,all the way from the headstock to the body?

Stupid question, but I have to ask
    (I'm not that good at fysics.Nor the language, You probably say)

2. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    Devils Advocate:

Why would you want frets to be like that?

THINK about whats really going on with a vibrating string.....thats kind of a trick question.

3. I don't get it either. Never thought of it before. Great question.

Well it can be über close to the fretboard.
    Fretless dont have at all and that works.
    So it must be possible to have it über close the fretboard :D

4. Oh, I mean why not all frets can be REAAAALLY close to the board.

5. hmmmmm, we know why...

6. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    Think about it....the string is straight......the neck has a slight curve in it.....each fret IS a little farther away fron the string.....which is he same thing as each fret being a little lower than the preceeding fret.

At least that holds true untill you get to fret 12 and things start to get closer to the axis of the string again.

The curve of the neck follows the curve of the vibrating string. Or at least..it's supposed to. If your stuff is set up properly.

7. Ingemar

Ingemar

Sep 12, 2000
    Sweden
    Thanks
    Think I've got it right now.The important thing is
    "the curve of the vibrating string" (vibrating more on the middle than int the ends)

8. Ingemar

Ingemar

Sep 12, 2000
    Sweden
    Now I've thouhgt of this issue twise (couldn't let go)
    And.. (maby stupid again)