1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Constructing a Composite Bass Project!

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Kickin'Fruit, Dec 5, 2006.

1. Hey everyone,

I'm about to take on a great project for my Composite Materials class. I am a Mechanical Engineering Student at RIT and we have the opportunity to pick an object we want to make out of composites and I thought a bass would be awesome!

Of course I have to buy the materials. Any of you have any information on what would be the best materials for taking on this project?

I am planning on modeling it after say a RainSong guitar or a Modulus but with a Fender style body.

I don't think I'm in over my head as my professor even suggested this as a project. If worse comes to worse I could just make a replacement composite neck for my Fender J bass.

I am looking for any insight into this project. If I don't get enough information, I'll just end up making a composite hockey stick or something else less interesting. Thanks for any help!

2. I've read a couple of the patents for graphite basses and necks. One method (I think the one patented by G. Gould of Modulus) uses graphite pieces on a mold with epoxy. Other methods use graphite cloth over a core with epoxy and yet another uses graphite dust mixed with epoxy on a cast. Too bad those guys don't hang around here.

3. Rodent

Rodent A Killer Pickup Line™ Commercial User

Dec 20, 2004
    Upper Left Corner (Seattle)
    Player-Builder-Founder: Honey Badger Pickups & Regenerate Guitar Works
    hey KF,

Excellent idea for a project! :hyper: Here's a couple of thoughts -

* For US Export Control reasons, you will not be able to discuss the engineering details of your part in this international forum. A Google search on US Export Control will keep you out of hot water