1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Contradictory statement that bass does not keep tempo.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kohanmike, Oct 10, 2019.

1. kohanmike

kohanmike Gold Supporting Member

A couple weeks ago I attended a festival that included performances and seminars. I made sure to watch the performance that included a bass player who also conducted a seminar.

Without a doubt he's a terrific bass player, but as a teacher, he left a lot to be desired. It was a beginner class and as he started to explain the bass, he included explanations of other instruments. Odd I thought, but what really got me is when he asked, "When there's no drummer, who keeps the tempo?" Pretty much everyone said the bass. He replied, "Wrong, all the other instruments."

Even though I only started playing bass 6 years ago after playing guitar for almost 50 years, my understanding in all that time, and said here many times, the bass is part of the rhythm section that keeps the tempo. I never heard another school of thought.

TolerancEJ, EatS1stBassist and pcake like this.
  2. bass12

bass12 Say "Ahhh"... Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada
    "All the other instruments" or "all the instruments". The former doesn't make any sense to me, the latter does. And there needs to be some mention of context. In a style of music where the bass is playing a consistent rhythm such as a walking line it is most definitely going to be regarded as a primary reference for time-keeping (and most likely the primary reference if there are no drums in the picture).

Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
  3. UntitledUser

UntitledUser

Sep 18, 2019
    He is right.
    In a lot of drumless ballads the bass does not play every bar/loop.
    It can be a piano, or a violin, or the singer alone keeping the tempo and the bass player plays only some notes to accent some things.