1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Converting a 4 Ohm cab to 8 Ohm. Worth it?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by tspallone, Mar 12, 2013.

1. tspallone

tspallone

Oct 13, 2011
    Nanuet, NY
    After posting and reading a bunch of things on impedance, I feel that I am now an expert!!!!! ok, maybe not.

But, here's my idea. Please offer insite and thoughts.

I have a really nice Peavey 1 x 15, 4 ohm (500w?) cabinet. I actually would love not to eff with it. BUT, I need a 1 x 15, 8 ohm cabinet and, not that it's a money thing, but really, how many cabinets is one person going to keep hanging around?

What I'm thinking is to have a dual 1/4" input on the back of the cab where one input goes direct to the speaker (4 ohm) and the other input interrupted with a 4 ohm resister in series to make an 8 ohm.

Is the heat disipation, along with the cost of a 500w 4 ohm resister worth it?

Or,should I just bore ahead and either buy a 400w-500W, 8 ohm(my amp puts out 450W to 2 8ohms or 1, 4 ohm) speaker and replace the 4 ohm speaker in the Peavey cabinet or, just find another 8 ohm cabinet on ebay/craigslist?

Just trying to do the most with a little.

Thanks for telling me your thoughts.

2. Forget about adding resistors. Search if you want explanation, it's not an uncommon crazy question.

What's wrong the 4 ohm 15 as it is?

3. A complete waste.....

Whatever reduced wattage output you will get at 8 ohms will now be cut in half again it will be split evenly between the speaker and the resistor/space heater.

4. Jaco who?

Jaco who?

May 20, 2008
    If you really want to keep it, someone around here compiled a pretty decent list of 2Ω capable heads. search.

5. tspallone

tspallone

Oct 13, 2011
    Nanuet, NY
    Perfect. Thanks. That's what I thought.