Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Convincing "upright" tone - Godin A4, Rob Allen MB2, or?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gkintn, Mar 6, 2005.

1. gkintn

gkintn

Mar 6, 2005
    This is my first post around here...

I'm looking for a fretless, piezo pickup type bass to use mainly in a Bluegrass band, and for rootsy studio work around Nashville. I have very little true upright experience, though I can play a lined 34" scale fretless with no problems. I best stick with a horizontal instrument, close to the scale length of a P-bass.

I have tried a Godin A4 and was quite impressed. It would surely do the doghouse thing much better than my old P bass.
    The 1/4" long cheater lines really do the trick.

However are the much more expensive Rob Allen MB2 basses worth the extra cash over the Godins?

Any suggestions from folks that have played these?

2. genderblind

genderblind

Oct 21, 2004
    Montreal
    Seriously, the Status Electro is perfect for your specifications.
    Piezo bridge with one humbucker, a vast array of tones, and amazing playability. I have one, and it is the best bass i have ever owned. I think it looks much better than the Rob Allen too, it's a real modern art baby.
    Check out the Status Graphite site for some pics, look in their "stock basses" section to see two more versions. don't be put off by the graphite neck, they sound clear AND warm! Mine is all wood, chambered mahogany with a maple top, maple neck with rosewood board - flawlessly designed and built. Beautiful thin neck, amazing action.
    I'm lucky...

3. Marcus Willett

Marcus Willett Supporting Member

Feb 8, 2005
    Palm Bay, FL
    Endorsing Artist: Bag End - Dean Markley - Thunderfunk
    I would seriously suggest you check out:

http://www.electrocoustic.com/