Corelli 380 TX

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by gruffpuppy, Jun 26, 2002.

1. Any users?

I have a pretty new Swingmaster and I am hoping to improve the volume.

I had a set of Obligatos on it, sounded great, no volume.

Put on some Corelli 370's Great for bowing, good volume, to darn thin.

Using Spirocore Solos, Best volume, nice to finger, kind of noisy under the bow. My teacher is bowing the same strings and I can bow them with no problem but his are also about 8 years old.

Any views?
  2. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    The 380's are thicker than 370's. (they're nickel instead of tungsten)
    You tried 370TX?
    When you say:
    What do you exactly mean by "too thin"?
    The sound or just the gauge?
  3. Sorry Gauge seemed thin.

They were 370M

I have the 360M's on a China Bass and those are real thin in the gauge department. They are good for that bass with its 3 inch string height.

What I hope to gain is a string that bows nice and opens up the basses sound.
  4. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    The 370s are also available in Forte gauge (370F) and Extra-Forte (370TX) although the 370TX is quite thin in gauge.
    This is due to the tungsten wrap which is a heavy metal, therefore you need less of it to get the required mass.

The 360s are solo-tuning, so they're the thinnest gauge.

The 380s are thicker than 370s because they use nickel wrapping, which has less mass than tungsten.
    They also sound a bit darker I think. They're quite inexpensive too.

However I don't like the E string of the 380TX set.

Did you try Helicore Hybrids?
    They're maybe the loudest strings I ever tried, but YMMV.

Your bass will react its own way to the tension of your whole set.
    I had a 3/4 hungarian plywood once which sounded wonderful with Thomastik Superflexibles, but ordinary with Spirocores, which are higher tension.