Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Corelli 380TX E String

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by kwd, Aug 31, 2003.

1. kwd

kwd

Jun 26, 2003
    silicon valley
    I've done a lot of thread research on viable hybrids. Also, many of you have responded to threads I've started -which has been extremely helpful. It seems that Varicor Excel and Pirastro Flatchome Steel are the only hybrid candidates free of significant compromises or shortcomings. The next in line is the Corelli series (370 or 380). Corellis seem to have one drawback, namely that that G string is too darn thin.

I ended up making a decision based on cost and buying an E and an A 380 TX from Southwest Strings. I love the way these things bow. I started playing some arco studies and I could negotiate passages that I couldn't with the Helicores. I know that I could progress with my arco a lot faster with these and that's worth a lot. But the E is a little dark and thuddy for jazz. Is the tungsten E (370) any brighter?

Corellis are so atypical that that don't mix and match to well with other strings. You have to go with the complete set. If the 370 has a brighter sound I think that combination would be perfect for me.

2. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    Yes, the tungsten series are brighter than the nickels.
    It's funny because last week I ordered a solo-tuning 380TX (nickel) A string for testing.
    I want a darker tone.
    I tried a 370M A but it was much too floppy.
    I hope the extra-forte tension in solo gauge will be a bit more tense. (nickels in forte tension are not made AFAIK, e.g. 380F)

3. kwd

kwd

Jun 26, 2003
    silicon valley
    Francois

Thank you for the reply. As always, it's helpful. I kind of figured as much about the 370s but I just wanted to confirm before spending more $$.