Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Correct Fingering on the right hand..

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DarkMazda, Jun 3, 2000.

1. DarkMazda

DarkMazda

Jun 3, 2000
    NJ
    Hello.. I'm a beginner at bass.. about 5-6 months.. I was wondering what kind of fingering should the right hand do.. I do the thing where I put my thumb on the Pickup when playing E, putting my thumb on E when playing A, putting my thumb on A while playing D etc.. etc.. but when I wanna do some quick movements, its hard to play it correctly since it sounds like im jumping.. I want it to sound smooth and stuff. What should i do? Can someone gimme some advice? I don't take any lessons hehe

2. Bass Case

Bass Case

May 20, 2000
    One word...Practice!!! You pretty much described how I and I'm sure a bunch of others play. Practing will get you better used to having to move your hand from string to string.

Another possibility is that you could just keep your thumb on the pickup and learn to reach to the other strings, but I think what you are doing is the right idea. Good luck.
    Eric

3. DarkMazda

DarkMazda

Jun 3, 2000
    NJ
    Ah ic.. Thanks a bunch. Its really easy to go upwards.. as in from G to D to A to E. but its harder to go down like from E to A to D to G. But I'll work on it. Thanks [​IMG] I just learned some CHili Peppers (Suck My Kiss, Otherside, Parallel Universe) [​IMG] I've learned parts of Around the World also. I got the Intro correct but the verse is hard hehe

4. hepdood

hepdood

May 5, 2000