Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Correct right hand position...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Growler, Jan 18, 2005.

1. Growler

Growler

Sep 26, 2004
    I'm pretty new to bass (been "playing" for about 6mo), and I'm wondering if there's a way to avoid having my right wrist be at a sharp angle without having my right elbow way up in the air.

If I raise my elbow, my wrist straightens out, but then my elbow/shoulder gets tired. Currently I only play sitting down. I only finger, no pick.

-Growler.

2. Sorry nobody got back to you yet...When I first started I had the same problem...when you sit down, hunched over the bass, the break angle of your wrist is pretty severe. Some players take to that angle readily, and those are who you see with their bass really high when strapped on. I wear mine right at my belt line, so I have only the slightest wrist angle when I play standing.

I found when I was starting out that having a strap (even when sitting) allowed me to hang the bass a little lower, easing any undue tension on my wrist...after working like this for a while, I found I could deal with the harsher break angle while sitting because my arm, wrist, and hand had all become accustomed to it. It's really all about conditioning.

3. CJK84

CJK84

Jan 22, 2004
    Maria Stein, OH
    I play exclusively standing up - I just cannot get comfortable playing while seated - bass feels too high and, yes, my right hand wrist angle is too great.

Anyway, if you stand, the body of the bass can be positioned a little lower (than when seated) and that should help minimize wrist angle.

Also, angle the neck upward so that the right hand can approach the strings in a way that it remains in alignment with the forearm - any yaw at the wrist is not good either.

4. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI