Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cort 5 string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Ruud Das, Sep 13, 2000.

1. I want to start playing a 5 string, and somebody brought the Cort R3535 to my attention. I played it a bit and it seems great. But I don't want to find out I missed something and regret my purchase after a few weeks. So any comments on this bass??

P.S. I mainly will be using it for rock and funk

2. Acacia

Acacia

Apr 26, 2000
    Austin, TX
    a friend of mien bought one for his son recently and I thought it felt great. i'm no pro bassist ro anything, but i know what feels good to me.

3. rmp5s

rmp5s

May 19, 2000
    Great bass. I like them a lot. Looks, slap 'tronics, great fretboard....it's got a lot of plusses, specially for the money, but if I had enough money, that's not what I'd get. If you have a G or more to spend, look at Peavy basses. They have, I think, the best electronics (second only to Zon, check those out too) and basically just feel damn good.

4. I played one. My guitarist has one for laying bass parts on demos. I play it occasionally. It's nowhere near the nicest bass I've played, but it is decent. It's a good low-end bass. It plays well enough. It appeared to be built well. I preferred to back the treble off on it to get a decent sound. After playing around with the tone controls a bit I was able to get a sound I could live with. Mind you that I am used to my Zon, so I may be spoiled. For a Cort, it's pretty good. If you have more money to spend, I'd look at other options, but I have played on two different Corts that were pretty nice.

5. rmp5s

rmp5s

May 19, 2000
    Zons have wicked electronics, don't they, Brian?