1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

costs of bass teachers

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by hova9018, Apr 26, 2006.

1. hova9018

hova9018

Mar 13, 2006
    Hi, i live in New York (which'll probably boost any price by about 30%), and i've been playing bass for a few months. I've made a lot of progress just playing by myself, i've taught myself how to slap pretty well, but i dont know theory. I also want to learn how to play different styles and all that good stuff. So basically i think i might start looking for a teacher, so i just wanna hear the different prices that people have paid for some good ones. thnx.

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    When I was taking lessons before I moved, I was paying $30/half hour.

3. Actually, prices in NYC will likely be closer to double IIRC. I teach in Phoenix AZ and charge $25 per hour, $20 per hour if you by in advance blocks ($240 for 12 lessons). IMO, I find half hour lessons are generally useless - too short to get much done. Some people out here charge more, some charge less, but I make my students come to me in my home studio so with the drive I try to keep my prices reasonable, gas and all. If you can find someone you like it's worth it!

4. fr0me0

fr0me0

Dec 7, 2004
    Winnipeg Canada
    I pay 12.50 for half an hour but it usually runs about 45 minutes.