Could Anyone Recommend a Laptop?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by JN8642, Aug 1, 2018.

1. JN8642

JN8642

Aug 19, 2015
    Hey TB,

I'm in the market for a new laptop for when I return to school this fall and could use some recommendations. I need something that will run fast when I'm writing and researching papers. Watching videos on said laptop is a huge plus as well.

I'm not very tech savvy so I hope I'm wording this alright. I'm currently using an old half broken Dell Vostro.

Ideally looking to stay under the $400 range. The laptop doesn't need to be able to run games, but running basic, not uber high graphic requirement games would be a plus, but not required for me as this will be dominantly used for school purposes.

Any help is appreciated!

2. Rumbledore

Rumbledore Inactive

Jun 2, 2018
    peninsula
    JN8642 likes this.
  3. DirtDog

DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    What software do you intend to run or are you using cloud based stuff?

4. JN8642

JN8642

Aug 19, 2015
    I think just mostly programs that will help me write papers, make graphs, power-points, and possibly even make basic videos (As those seem to be popular assignments lately)

I currently don't know if I'll be using cloud

5. MJ5150

MJ5150 Moderator Staff Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    Look for a used ThinkPad.
    I have had great experiences with them over the last 7-8 years.
    I have one now (Carbon X1) I got in 2013, still working just fine.

-Mike

Killed_by_Death and JN8642 like this.
  6. I just got a Chromebook and more or less jailbroken it to run Ubuntu with a lightweight desktop environment. It's a lot easier than it sounds, and it runs doom, what more do you need?

That being said, if you want it to run out of the box as is, Chrome isn't a particularly great OS. I can't say I dig Chrome on its own too much, but I would look into it myself before coming to a decision if I were you.