Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Could someone tell me what I'm playing?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ThePaste, Jun 27, 2001.

1. Hey guys, I was upstairs playing, and I just started playing this arpeggio, from highest pitched to lowest, the notes are F, C#, F. Does anyone know if that has a name?

2. D flat major arpeggio in first inversion with no 5th maybe? could be a lot of things....

3. Anyways, thanks for taking the time!

4. F-Db. Minor sixth interval.

5. .....WOW Eddie you are so smart! How long have you been playing bass?

6. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY

Not to interrupt or anything, but I believe the answer to that would be, "longer than you've BEEN." Kinda scary, huh?

7. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    Dammit, Ed! Don't leave us hanging! Post the freakin' article!

Man, you go on about how this article changed your life and you don't want us to change ours?!?

8. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS
    Yo Ed, waz-up wit dat! Where's the article, yo!

9. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Mr. ED(umacation)-
    F-Ab-C#(Db)-F = Dbmaj or Fmin?
    1-b3-#5/b6? ;)

Anyway, I like the chords you have listed above to possibly play with Pasty's F-C#-F thingee. The big thing(at least, to me)is how to voice those chords, especially on a guitar, so the bass note(F#) doesn't collide with a guitarist playing some ROOT position Barre-style chord.
    ...unless, of course, that is the desired effect! ;)

10. That article is too long! Is it on a tape...or movie...or somethin'? :)