1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Could this beginner bass benefit from a proper set-up and modification???

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by suitlandkid2005, Mar 16, 2009.

1. suitlandkid2005

suitlandkid2005

Sep 23, 2008
    I have this Ibanez IJSB90 Electric Bass that came with my starter bass pack:
    http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend...JSB90-Electric-Bass-Jumpstart-Pack?sku=516149

Now, I have been playing with it about a year since that is when I started playing bass. Now, I have been looking at new basses and have my heart set on the Ibanez ATK bass; but I am now thinking should I save my money for now and just get my current bass properly set up and possibly modified. I was going to take it to this luthier who does mods and set-ups and everything. I read on here how some people don't like the sound of their current and bass and run and get a new one when all they need is a proper set-up with their bass. So what do you guys think? Do you think I could have a great sounding bass with a set-up even though it is a starter bass? I was also wondering is it possible to aid some active pick ups or some different picks up in general. Like I said, I would love an ATK but I unfortunately missed out on that $300 clearance special at guitar center and musician's friend. So what do you guys think, is it worth it to get my beginner bass set-up and maybe a new pick up and/or bridge?(I was actually thinking about putting a tremolo on it) Or save $500 for a new ATK or search like hell for a reasonably priced one on EBAY?(which I have had no luck) Any info anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated?

By the way, I am from the Washington D.C. area and I was going to go to this guy. Check out his site:
    http://www.morganhenry.org/shop.html

or I could go here:
    http://www.metroguitar.com/services.htm