Could you reccomend a Cheap Upright?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Funkize you, May 25, 2004.

1. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    Hi guys, Im new to the DB forum, I have a Cheasey Fretless 4 string, I used to own a Lakland 55-94 5 string, I have a Lakland 55-01 5 string, and I also own a Peavey Cirrus 6 string! I play Mostly Jazz/Funk/Fusion/and Progressive Metal.

My Influances are Jaco Pastorius, John Myung, Stanley Clarke, Victor Wooten, and Many others...

Thats my Mini-intro...

So I am in the Marked for a Cheap Upright, I know that you get what you pay for, and I am not sure of the prices on a Quality upright bass, I.E. a "Crappy" upright may cost $700 while a Crappy Electric bass could be had for $200. And one of my bassist friends prides himself for Being a Czeck, and some day hopes to own a Fine upright bass himself.

Now if I were to buy one (Which I hope to) I would not be using a Bow, And I would use it for Mostly Jazz.

I dont really know if that is all the Info you need do decipher what bass (if any) are applicable to me, if you need any more info just tell me

Good times

2. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA
    Welcome to the world of Double Bass.

To begin,

1. Look at newbie links at the beginning of each forum category or go to Read carefully and seek the information therein.

2. Get thyself a Doublebass teacher. No exceptions. :)

We hope you have a pleasant stay.

This is a recorded message. *BEEP*
  3. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    Opps! Sorry, I didnt see the Newbie link up there.

Lots of into up there though! Thank you VERY much for your help, But even though I have heard (So far) bad Comments about them, I may end up getting a "Chinese" bass.
  4. hdiddy

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA