Country Bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CAYAMusic, Apr 20, 2002.

1. CAYAMusic

Apr 20, 2002
    Canon City, Co
    Anyone know a good resource for basic country bass? Lessons/samples/runs/etc?
  2. Showdown

Showdown Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I don't know of any country bass resources, but just use your ears. I've been playing in a country band for five years now and can tell you the bass isn't that complicated. A lot of root/fifth lines with walkups between the chord changes, mixed with root/third/fifth and a lot of staying on the root, especially in ballads. There are some trickier parts, but these are the most common. If you don't understand what I'm talking about, get a good general music theory book. By root/fifth I mean if the chord is A, then A would be the root and E (either below or above) would be the fifth. You would alternate between these two notes. This is the standard old style country bass line. A lot of newer country is rock influenced and the bass lines in these are more rock style than country. As I said before, use your ears ! Listen and figure it out yourself, it is not that hard. Good luck...
    Sturg likes this.
  3. slade

Apr 5, 2001
    Try to throw a 2 or 6 in as well- some of the passes I play most in my country band are runs starting on the 6 and playing the 5 3 and 2, in optional orders- give it a shot!
  4. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    Use your ears...I agree. If you're really wanting to learn the standard forms and conventions of country, I'd definitely suggest that you go back and listen/learn some of the earlier traditional country stuff: Hank Williams Sr., Merle Haggard, George Jones, etc. or some newer stuff that follows these masters, like Dwight Yoakam, George Strait. Get a feel for what the "standard" country song does and it'll help you build a base to work from.