Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Country Oldies problem

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Lazylion, Mar 10, 2006.

1. Lazylion

Lazylion Goin ahead on wit my bad self!

Jan 25, 2006
    Frederick MD USA
    I've been playing country for many years, with dozens of bar bands. I wasn't really a country fan when I started, but I've become one through playing. I've played many of the classic old tunes, but these days I'm interested in newer songs. I'm currently in a band with an excellent girl singer who is relatively new to country music, and the band leader is a former longtime bluegrass banjo player and also relatively new to the commercial country scene. These two are "discovering" a lot of these good ole nuggets which I have played a million times each. I found myself rehearsing "I Will Always Love You", "Stay Here And Drink", "Hello Darlin", and a few other overdone (but classic) tunes. Our latest CD of tunes to learn has "Dixieland Delight" by Alabama on it. I played it a million times when Alabama was happening. I am SICK of these songs!!! Yes I know bar patrons love them, they are classic, yada yada, but I have done them to death. When I bring this up to the band leader he says"but WE haven't done them". I'm not finding that a sufficient answer. Heck, even some (most?) of our fans have been listening to country longer than these two have been playing it. The band was focussed on newer songs when I joined a few years ago, but we seem to have slipped away from that, and into the "oldies trap". I don't want to waste whatever time I have left playing in an oldies review! Dare I say it, I want us to be "hipper" than that! But I also don't want to quit the band, it's a real congenial group, we play about as much as I want to, good musicians & singers. I also don't want to become the band a$$hole, not a fitting role for the bass player! But I feel str