Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by georgecarter, Jan 24, 2002.

1. Help me!
    I just joined a country band and I need some country bass tabs asap!! Anybody know any sites that I can get them from??!!
  2. Showdown

Showdown Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I've been playing in a country band for 5 years now, and the best advice I can give is to listen and figure them out yourself. 90% of the bass lines in country are very simple, often just using the root and the fifth, or the root/third/fifth, and you will be much better off in the future if you can do it yourself. There are sites with guitar chord charts, but I have never seen bass tabs for country. Go to for chord charts and use them to help you get started. If you rely on tabs to learn songs, then you will have problems in a band. If they want to learn a song that was just released, you likely won't find charts/tabs for a song that new, so what do you do then? Also, many of the chord charts/tabs I find on the internet are just plain wrong, or in a different key than the original. Better to learn to figure songs out by ear. Learn basic music theory first, it will help you a lot. If you know what notes you can play with, say, a G major chord, then you have narrowed down the possibilities and can find what they are playing easier. The bottom line is, there really are no short cuts. Most bands expect their members to be able to learn songs by ear, and if you can't it will put you at a disadvantage, and make it hard to find bands that are willing to hire you. Jusy my opinion, but an opinion based on 25 years of playing in bands. Good luck with your new band.
  3. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Ive played in a country band, and found that alot of the changes were just a regular I-IV-V or I-III-V pattern.

I recomend that you brush up on your scales a bit and try and learn the songs by ear as best you can.