1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Countryman 85 speaker level signal chain question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by pfschim, Apr 20, 2017.

1. pfschim

pfschim Just a Skeleton with a Jazz bass Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2006
    SF Bay Area
    After getting some good advice here on TB, I have been using a Countryman 85 for the past 2 years or so with good results. I usually just use it in front of my rig using the pickup option, then mic output to FOH.

I would like to use it with my Fender Studio tube amp using the Speaker level option and I want to confirm the signal path.

Bass => Pedal Board => Fender Studio Input => Fender Studio Speaker Out => Bergantino NV610 => speakon parallel out of Berg Nv610 => Inst jack on Countryman 85 (with switch in Speaker option) => Mic Output to FOH

I guess I could also run the Fender Studio Speaker Out => Countryman 85 Instrument (with switch in Speaker option), then Amp => Berg NV610 and Mic Output to FOH ... should be the same thing, right ?

any reason that using the first signal chain, not using the Amp out, would be an issue ?

can any of you experienced Type 85 users confirm this for me.

Thanks

2. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Love my type-85! I know this sounds lame, but before I would do either one, I'd call Countryman.

Countryman Associates, Inc.
    195 Constitution Drive
    Menlo Park, CA 94025

Tel - 650-364-9988
    US Toll Free 1 - 800-669-1422
    US Toll Free 2 - 855-395-8899
    Fax - 650-364-2794
    Email - support@countryman.com

8:00am - 5:00pm Pacific Time

3. Passinwind

Passinwind I know nothing. Supporting Member Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003