Cracked my bass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Aldon, Apr 27, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Aldon

Aldon

Apr 27, 2020
    Hey everyone, let me start of by saying that i'm a beginner bassist and this is my first post, so please correct me if i did anything wrong.

I dropped my jazz bass the other day and this afternoon suddenly a chunk of the coating fell off. Is there any way to repair this bass/should i bring it to a workshop? Thanks beforehand. :)

Attached Files:

2. colicchio

colicchio

Jun 24, 2012
    Richmond, VA
    Hey Aldon,

Looks like you posted in the correct category. Sorry to hear about the drop - this can happen to anyone and unfortunately it happens all the time. My advice would be to look at it in one of two ways:

1. It's your first bass, don't sweat it. You're going to pick up some damage and after that first drop, you'll be more careful. And now you're beyond that awkward stage where you stress about every little swirl or imperfection. This is a tool and you're learning.

2. Get creative. It looks like the chip is near the forearm rest? You could look into sanding that down and smoothing it out for a cool "Relic" look. Lots of guides for this online or you could find a local luthier willing to take a look to make an assessment. If the piece that broke off is still intact, you may be able to glue it back on there as well.

Damage like this will hurt resell value, but looking back I wish I had held onto my first bass, so take that into consideration as well. Just my 2 cents.

David McIntire and Guild B301 like this.
  3. Aldon

Aldon

Apr 27, 2020
    Heya thanks a lot for the reply and advices! :) I've got a couple of questions
    1. Won't sanding it down create a dent in the overall shape of the bass? The finish looks quite thick to me