Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Craptastic China Bass for Newbie...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by FlatNate, Jun 13, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi Guys,
    I am pretty new to the double bass forum. Anyways, I guess I am looking to see if you guys think further investment is a good or bad idea. Here is the deal:

I have played an upright for eleven years, and haven't been able to really play one since I gave up my rental and school bass at the end of high school. I miss it dearly. So recently I was able to acquire a used 10 to 15yr old chineese "box" for roughly 300 bucks. I have a pretty good relationship with the local luthier and he looked it over and told me it seemed to be will maintained (straight neck, descent bridge, and strings). He ended up telling me it wasn't a bad deal for 300 bucks, and would have catched about $1100 new (very similar to a lot of the basses they keep in their rental stock).

Anyways, my friend asked for $300. So I picked it up as a "banger" that I can put a magnetic pickup on for some rock type shows I do (at least until I find something much better). On the down side it has a crummy fingerboard, and nut.

I guess I am really wondering if its worth having my luthier put a rosewood or new fingerboard on it (he'll give me a good deal too). Is this kind of bass worth putting another $200 or $300 into. Sorry it is so long winded, but I am just wondering what your guys take is on all of this. I know a carved bass or a fifties Kay would be nice, but I know it will be a while before I can afford one (at least in my area). Thanks in advance.
    -Nate

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY