1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Crate BX-100

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by frmjersey, Mar 26, 2009.

1. frmjersey

frmjersey

Mar 26, 2009
    I just picked up a used Crate BX-100. When I tested it out at the owner’s house it sounded Fine. All the reviews I checked out online people said it as a decent amp. So I get it home and this thing is really noisy. A lot of "HUM" from the speaker. What's up with this? Do I have to move it around so that there’s no other electronic equipment around? I’m a newbie to this Bass thing and don’t have a problem asking questions. I’m relaying on the expertise of you, the Pros to help me out.
    Thanks,

2. MIJ-VI

MIJ-VI Banned Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2009
    Hi frmjersey.

You'll likely receive more timely assistance re trouble-shooting your amp's problem if you include the attention-getting word 'Help!' in your thread title.

Also, when asking for help, please supply as much detail as you can in your initial post: all the equipment your were using when the problem occurred would be helpful.

--------

As for your amp's hum:

- Is your bass plugged in when it does this? If so, is it an active or passive bass?

- Have you tried different guitar cables?

- Do you have anything which could cause ground loops (AC powered equipment, battery powered effects pedals which are being powered by DC adaptors etc) connected to your amp?

- Have you tried plugging your amp into different AC outlets in different rooms to hear if the hum increases or diminishes?​

You can download a BX-100 owner's manual from HERE.

3. MIJ-VI

Jan 12, 2009
    *levitate*

4. cbt

cbt

Mar 27, 2009
    i've got the bx100 crate, (bought used), might depend on a few things as the above poster noted

my bass is passive