Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

crazy wife wedding ring thing

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by eric atkinson, Dec 23, 2004.

1. eric atkinson

eric atkinson "Is our children learning "Is our teachers teachin

Feb 4, 2001
    Joplin,Missouri
    Any other married players need to remove youre wedding ring before you play? If i can make my wife belive that i take my wedding ring off because it gets in the way of my playing rather than doing it because i am trying to gets chicks then i will be set! I have seen players keep rings on before but when i play with one on i find that it makes a horrible noise when it hits a string or rubs against the neck. I try to explaine that i have been playing for more than 20 years and most of that playing was without a ring! Now that i have one its a huge problem. Just wondering if any other bassist out there do this as well?

2. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Sorry, my ring never touches the strings, on guitar or bass.

3. I can't wear a ring while playing. My left hand doesn't feel "right" and the ring does get in the way. As soon as I am done, it goes back on. Too easy.

4. I'm not married, but I do remember a good sized thread on this a while back... a search would probably help.

5. _Unregistered_

_Unregistered_

Nov 3, 2004
    Mine comes off when I play, or else it drags all over the fret wire ends at the lower edge of the neck.

F$%ks up the ring, F$%ks up my playing.

That little tiny pocket on the right side of your jeans is a safe place to put the ring while you play.

6. FenderHotRod

FenderHotRod

Sep 1, 2004
    Arkansas
    Sorry bro, can't help ya here. I do know the sound your talking about thou. Mine will make the same sound somtimes. I have gotten use to playing with it on.