1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Creating music and licks from Scales, Arpeggio's, etc

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Soulquarian, Sep 30, 2008.

1. Soulquarian

Soulquarian

Sep 30, 2008
    Hello everyone, I've been playing bass for a while, but only seriously for 3 years. I've always played by ear, and as a result, I can hear changes pretty easily and know where the root is pretty much all the time. However, this type of playing has resulted in a very "plain" style, at least in my opinion.

I play predominantly Gospel bass, which is probably closer to R&B then anything else.

I'm currently taking private lessons, and I'm studying music in college, however, the main problem I'm having is applying what I learn in school to my everyday playing. Right now, my ear and theory are in two completely different places, and it's really frustrating. I can hear scales in all the licks that I hear, and when I practice those licks, I can see the scale there, but I have no clue how to create my OWN licks. When I do, they all sound like plain old scales lol.

Any advice?

2. mdiddium

mdiddium

Jun 21, 2004
    Philadelphia, PA
    I definitely know what you are saying. It's tough to write a riff that doesn't sound too mechanical or derived simply from a scale.

For me, it's always been a fine line between learning all of the scales, arpeggios, patterns, etc... and at the same time forgetting them so I just play something that comes naturally.

For now, I'd suggest playing around with chromaticism. It can help add a lot of color to your scales and before you know it, you might have a new riff on your hands. Chromaticism can also help you modulate or make the key more ambiguous, which also helps break things up.

Good luck!

3. mambo4

mambo4

Jun 9, 2006
    Dallas