Creating my dream Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pster, Jan 16, 2005.

1. pster

Jan 15, 2005
    Hey, I'll get straight down to it, i'm after a bit of help.

I need a new Bass.I have decided to look into making a Bass thats perfect for my style of playing. Unfortunately I have no experience in building a guitar from scratch and have limited knowledge on things like Pick-ups and wood type etc.

My style involves creating my basic bassline and then using hammered on notes in the gaps, usually using my right hand. Ideally I am torn because I want the low parts of my basslines to sound very authentic and vintage but I want the higher, tapped notes to ring through and sound more electronic. Has anybody got any advice about what parts I should be looking at to achieve the best of both worlds. Maybe I need to use a more modern sounding pick-up on my D and G strings and a more vintage one on my E and A? I don't know if thats a viable option or not. Also any advice on any other aspect of building guitars would be greatly appreciated? I just need to know what kind of products to be looking at. There are so many out there and I have a long history of making bad decisions as reguards buying musical equipment.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot for your time.

2. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    What are you playing now??

Have you been to music stores and tried out a bunch of different instruments to be sure that there isn't one out there that will work for you??

Were you looking to build one yourself, or have one built for you??
  3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Hmm...I suppose you could take a Bartolini p-pickup and an EMG p, cut them apart, and then use the EMG for the D and G and the Bart for the E and A? ;) :D