1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Critique My Playing (Aebersold Play Alongs)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by conttador, Dec 23, 2011.

1. conttador

conttador

Jun 10, 2010
    San Antonio, TX
    I've been playing for almost two years now, I recently started recording my self playing along with some Jamey Aebersold tracks. I would like to get some constructive feedback that will help me improve. Please check out my tracks and let me know your thoughts. Thanks in advance to for taking the time.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 16, 2014
  2. cire113

cire113

Apr 25, 2008
    I heard the Blue Bossa..

Maybe check out your articulation,dynamics, and note duration...

Also I would practice a tempo much much slower.. and try to make it Feel and flow really well.. Sounds like your rush in a little at times

Most important thing is feel.. want the bass to really flow consistently;

Its like if your jogging there is a nice consistent rhythm

Really good for only playing 2 years though keep it in perspective...

I would just keep doing what your doing.. listen to some of the original recordings to those play alongs

3. conttador

conttador

Jun 10, 2010
    San Antonio, TX
    Thanks I am experimenting with note choice and rhythm patterns. I think if I slow it down I will be able to focus on the articulation and dynamics, as you mentioned. My bass instructor alwas says, music is a journey. Thanks again!

VIA

4. GeoffT

GeoffT

Aug 1, 2011
    Michigan
    Good stuff, keep at it.

I will agree about slowing it down a bit to clean things up. When working on new songs I generally start around 100bpm and slowly move up from there. It tends to go better for me that way, especially when I get together with the guys and they are going at a much faster pace.