crossing strings with the thumb in TP

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by mike_odonovan, Oct 5, 2003.

1. i have been working pretty hard in thumb position lately and have concetrated on developing a callous in a very specific spot and then sticking to playing notes using the kind of groove/indentation this callous has become. now i am trying to work out how to play notes on adjacent strings like the G on the 1st string to D on the 2nd string. should i roll the over to grab the D string? should i then look at getting a callous indentation up higher up on my thumb, close to my nail? any thoughts?
  2. Matthew Tucker

Matthew Tucker Commercial User

Aug 21, 2002
    Sydney, Australia
    Owner: Bresque Basses, Sydney Basses and Cellos
    I'm new at it too, but I figured out pretty quick that if you have to lift your thumb up to put it down again on an adjacent string you've got no hope of playing anything fluid.

So, keep the edge of thy thumb across two strings at all times, and stop the one you need. Slide across and back. The callus needs to run all the way from knuckle to knail!
  3. hey thanks for your reply but that is not how i have been going about. (given i am probably wrong). i have been concetrating on playing in TP on the G string with exactly the sam part of my thumb about half way between first knuckle and the start of the nail. i now have a groove there. it seems to be the only way i can garantee (he says!) that it will be an in tune G when i jump from an F with the fourth finger. i am looking at getting a groove/callous going right up near the corner of the thumbnail so that i can cross between the two. i am kind of answering my own question with my own theory here but it seemed to work pretty well today in practise. still really love some feedback/ thoughts/ how you do it stuff.
  4. Matthew Tucker

Matthew Tucker Commercial User

Aug 21, 2002
    Sydney, Australia
    Owner: Bresque Basses, Sydney Basses and Cellos