crossover needed???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dbgor2308, May 12, 2003.

1. dbgor2308

Nov 18, 2002
    OK...Here's the rig I have: GK 400RBIII with a Behringer MDX 2200 compressor. I use the compressor to even the highs and lows out and have it set on some suggestions that I found on TB. I am pretty much happy with the compressor settings, seeing as I know one can either hamper or improve your sounds. My problem is lows are too muddy. I dont want to mess with the compressor settings. The cabinet I am using is an old peavey 4x10 with a crappy sounding tweeter in the middle. Now here's my thoughts: I am gonna get rid of the Peavy cab and purchase a 2x10 and a 1x15 from Avatar. Will a good crossover help with the muddy lows or can I get a good sound running the cabinets seperatley from each speaker jack in the back. I am kinda new to the bass tone thing as I started off on the guitar and know how to get a good sound with those rigs. Any suggestions?

2. NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    interesting - bump
  3. Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    to run a crossover, you'd need 2 amps. The crossover will split your signal into 2 seperate signals, one containing highs, the other containing lows. Each sinal needs a seperate amplification source.

I wouldn't bother. With the new cabs you're looking, there will be a certain amount of natural frequency filtering going on anyway, so your sound should improve. By that I mean that the 15 will handle the bottoms better than your current cab so you may even be able to roll off some lows on the amp but still get a nice strong sounding bottom end. At the same time, the 2x10 is getting fed a signal with the lows cut and should therefore deliver a nice punchy sound. Together they'll provide a nice frequency spread.

If you're still not happy, I think your sound could be better served with a decent EQ.
  4. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002