1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Crown 1000xls: LPF/HPF opinions/advice

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BlkHeli, Oct 13, 2013.

1. BlkHeli

BlkHeli

Feb 2, 2013
    Boston, MA
    I'm new to SS and power amp setups. I also don't totally understand specs and how they relate to what comes out of the speakers.

Here's what I'm trying to run:
    Drop B passive fender jazz
    Verellen meatsmoke rack pre
    Into
    Crown 1000xls running stereo
    Into
    2 ampeg SVT 610HLF cabs. 4 ohms each

If this was your rig, how would you set the filters? Right now it's in stereo bypass mode. The sound lacks clarity. I'd love to have a bit more punch and a bit less oomph.

Also could I run the two 610 cabs on amp 1 at 2ohms and run side two with a 4 ohm 215 as a sub?

Look forward to trying your suggestions!

2. xring

xring

Sep 16, 2003
    Ohio
    I'm going to suggest you try to run the HPF at 50 hz. to (possibly) give you less boominess down low, but that would negate using the 215 as a sub - cuz max low at 50 hz. ain't gonna cut it. 215 doesn't make a proper or good sub anyway.
    If you're lacking clarity throughout the range, it really has nothing to do with the filters. The Ampeg's might be wanting more watts than the amp is able to give. That may be due to the signal the Crown wants for full power. 1.4v. If your pre is putting out less, you aren't getting the cleanest headroom and volume possible. It all lies in the pre output and EQ. Just my 2 cents.

3. You're not going to like this but for clarity you need to ditch those cabs brother. 12x10 is only good for doom. Adding 15's is only good for more of the same with even less clarity.

4. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA