1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Crown XTi power amps?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Johnny5, Jan 4, 2007.

1. Johnny5

Johnny5

Mar 5, 2006
    Calgary, Canada
    Anyone had any experience with these - most notably the XTi 1000? (1400w Bridged Mono at 4 ohms) I'm thinking of running it with an SVP-CL through my Avatar B410 Neo.
    I just got an SVT-3Pro and realized I could have a TON more headroom for the same price, still with the tube pre. It makes me uneasy to think I could be getting so much more..

2. jkdahlman

jkdahlman Ambitious But Rubbish

Jul 13, 2004
    Baltimore, MD
    I've been gigging with mine for about 9 months now. Something around 100 gigs, give or take. Never let me down driving an Acme B2, a pair of Epi T110's or an old Bag end 15.I use it with either a Trace MK V pre or an Avalon U5 & a UREI 535 EQ (for room correction),depending on the gig. It's been through eveything from duet gigs to crazed big bands to R&R power trios.
    The worst that's happened is the fan comes on for a short time:)
    Quadzilla was over this evening and heard it with the Avalon & Epi's (playing my Stambaugh 8) maybe he can give you an unbiased opinion of the sound.
    I wouldn't be without mine. That much power & 17 pounds is too cool. Oh yeah, the DSP is pretty cool to have.
    HTH
    John

3. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    The DSP sounds like a great idea for multiple cabinet setups. You can store a preset for each setup you use.

4. The Diaper Geni

The Diaper Geni Submissive. And loving it. Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2005
    Central Ohio
    Nice thread! I want to replace my Crown UL2020 (CE2000) with the Xti 2000. (I like headroom. Sue me.) The UL2020 sounds incredible, but at around 45 lbs. it's just too damn heavy for my old-ish back.