1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

CS3/Compression question!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by TheRockinRoadie, Oct 24, 2009.

1. Hi there,

While i was making repairs to my guitar pedalboard today, i took the time to play around with a few of the pedls on bass.

I've never used a compresser on bass before, but when i plugged into a CS3, i was amazed at the difference!
    So the question is...

Is the CS3 a good compresser for bass? Or is there anything else that comes better recommended?

Cheers
    Lorry :bag:

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Check the compressor mega-thread, close by.

3. Bassmike62

Bassmike62 Punch'n Ooomph !! Supporting Member

I also have the CS-3 and from what I can hear, it does a competent job, but by following the threads, seems the EBS multi-comp has an edge. I checked out their site, it sounds real good. Probably explained by the fact that the EBS is made for bass, as opposed to the CS-3, which is made for everything, including bass. I'll probably trade in my CS-3 eventually...

4. TheFantod

TheFantod #5 of the Pentaverate. Took Col. Sanders' spot.

Aug 7, 2009
    Eastern N.C.
    Can of Worms, meet opener.

Seriously, the CS-3 is okay for bass, but it is MUCH improved my modifying it, either by yourself, or sending it to someone like Mark Humphrey.

I got one cheap from GC when they had their sale, and I was pleasantly surprised at how good it sounded stock. Still, I sent it in to Humphrey Audio Mods and he made it MUCH better.

And, for the record, I did briefly pick up the EBS Mulitcomp just to A/B it with the Modified Boss. A lot of people here swear by the Multicomp so I wanted to try it out. They sounded nearly exactly the same. One wasn't any better than the other, except for one thing: