Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cuban Timba--New Salsa Style--any tips?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by winston, Oct 10, 2004.

1. winston

winston Supporting Member

May 2, 2000
    Berkeley, CA
    Hey, just wondering if anyone has experience with Timba, an outgrowth of salsa that's popular in Cuba and NY. I have an opportunity to try out for a timba band in the next couple of weeks and I need to know what makes it unique as a style. I was given a CD (without artists' names) and a list of Latin Real Book charts, but that's about it.

I have several years' experience playing different Latin styles (Brazilian sambas, bossas & choros; boleros, tumbaos, mambos, songo, etc.) but not much salsa. This is a group of serious players (Cuban trumpeter who played with Ibrahim Ferrer, some of the baddest-ass percussionists in the area) so I can't be faking it. I've heard Los Van Van and the Afro-Cuban All Stars (and I've checked out www.timba.com) but would appreciate any help from TB'ers--thanks. :help:

2. Matthew Tucker

Matthew Tucker Commercial User

Aug 21, 2002
    Sydney, Australia
    Owner: Bresque Basses, Sydney Basses and Cellos