Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Curiosity

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Barnacle Joe, Jul 25, 2004.

1. Hi, I just recently started playing bass (and bought one) after playing guitar off and on for a couple years. Its a mexican jazz five-string. I really love the jazz bass sound, especially that sound with the full on neck pickup and the bridge pickup turned down but obviously it hums like crazy (just practicing by myself its no big deal but with the band its annoying). Soo, I was curious about my options, It's my understanding that if I rewired everything so that I have a master volume and tone and a pot that pans from neck to bridge (i'm not really sure what that would be called) the hum would be permanently canceled regardless of if the pickups were used evenly (a friend of mine's peavey fretless axcelerator is made that way but I cant remember if the pickups themselves are hum canceling or not.) Am I right? Also, does anyone know where I could find some information about hum canceling jazz pickups made for the five string model? I was looking around the other day, I think I remember finding one set (by dimarzio maybe? i dont even remember) but of course there had to be a big statement that they do not fit Fender basses, odd huh? The stock pickups sound fine though to me (at this point in my bass playing career anyway, also I paid 250 for the bass, which I feel was fair (almost brand new) but I'm pretty cheap and wouldn't have gone much more than that and don't plan to put a whole lot in it) so if the wiring mod would work that would be great (cheap + I like having a master volume on an instrument).

Thanks,
    Stephen

2. RyanHelms

RyanHelms

Sep 20, 2003
    Cleveland, OH