Custom Bass Questions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassGrowl, Jul 30, 2001.

1. BassGrowl

Jul 30, 2001
    i have a few questions about custom basses that ive always wondered:

1) how much do they usually cost (i know it depends but just wondering)
    2) where can i find someone who custom creates these works of art
    3) so your saying i could put together the sleekness of an Ibanez Ergodyne with the sound of a Ernie Bass Stingray?
    4) are they worth it?
    5) can i create practically any design i want?
    6) can i put a whammy bar on it?
  2. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    I am no expert on em, but here goes:

1. That really does depend on way to many things. You will have to check out a few web sites.
    2. is where I am getting mine from. Sadowsky, Matt Pulcinella (sp?), Conklin, Carl Thompson, are a few others that come to mind. There are tons of custom bass builders out there. Use your search engines and find em.
    3. It all depends. Some guys have a "if you can dream it, I will build it" attitude (as long as it is NOT a direct copy of another bass!!), while others make you stick to their basic design and give you options as to woods, electronics, pups, etc.
    4. Again, it all depends on you. How much time are you willing to spend researching and figuring out what exactly it is you want and need out of YOUR bass?? Believe me, there are a lot of details to think of. If you don't spend the time doing your homework, you might get the bass and soon be thinking "if I would have done it this way or that way, it would have been better."
    5. See answer number 3.
    6. I am sure some builders will do that. Just email them and ask them.

3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Theoretically, you can get whatever you want, including custom made pickups. The thing is to find someone who will execute whatever you want.