Custom Strap < $100?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by TheEmptyCell, Dec 27, 2005.

1. TheEmptyCell

TheEmptyCell Bearded Dingwall Enthusiast

Jul 16, 2005
    Syracuse, NY
    That's right folks. I've been using a Yamaha 3" leather strap for about 2 years, but it's just not cutting it at any height. It's not offering enough support for my small (and somewhat weak) young frame :p .

So, I'm looking at getting a custom strap made. What I'd really like is something preferably 4" wide, adjustable to maybe 52" or whatever the norm is, and padded. Padding is a MUST, and the wider the better. My sixer and my Jazz weigh in quite hefty, so I need the support.

I dislocated my left shoulder about 2 years ago, and while it is healed just fine, I get terrible pains if I play too long. The doc himself prescribed something that supports my instruments better.

Does anyone have any suggestions where I could get something like this for under $100? The cheaper, the better, cuz at least if I lose it, I can have it replaced quicker.
  2. Nadav

Nov 13, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    Have you looked at Moody Leather? Their straps are around $100, and are good. They're actually sold in the TB store..
  3. BassChuck

Nov 15, 2005
    Maybe I'm just weird or something, but I'm really put off by the logos and trademarks on the straps. I like the style and quality of Levi straps, but I'll be darned if I'm going have their logo out there like I'm advertising for them or something. Levi's company makes more money than I do... they don't need my help.

Moody's look really good, but then again, there's the Moody logo.

Musicians Friend catalog came today..... some OK straps in there, but none without some picture or something on it. I don't want to make a statement with the strap, I just want to hold my bass in place.

Any idea where I can get a 3.5 to 4 inch leather strap without the artwork?
  4. Wouldn't the same apply to any bass you play?
  5. Cerb

Sep 27, 2004