Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cutting a pickguard

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by therealting, Aug 21, 2004.

1. Hi there,

What is the best way to cut a pickguard, assuming that I don't have a full workshop? I am prepared to go out and buy suitable tools (as long as the tools in question aren't of the $2,000 press drill variety).

The pickguard material is acrylic, if that is of any help.

Many thanks,
    Johann

2. PasdaBeer

PasdaBeer

Nov 2, 2002
    Santa Rosa California
    SandStorm Designs
    band saw, fine fine fine tooth blade

3. Worshiper

Worshiper

Aug 13, 2004
    New York
    I am by no means a professional, but from the few basses I have built/ modified, I've found that using a jig saw/scroll saw, there seems to be a lot of names for it. It's a saw with a thin blade about 4 inches long that vibrates up and down. I call it a jig saw. The pickguard may have a tendancy to chip as you cut it due to the motion of the blade. Thus, I suggest, if it's an old pickguard, put some packingtape over the area you are going to cut on both sides. This will keep the acrylic from chipping and scratching as you guide it on the saw. If it is a new pickguard it may have a clear sheet of tape-like material on it. Don't remove it until you are done cutting.
    Oh and that saw you can get starting at about $100 for a basic one. Do a search for a company called Harbor Freight Tools. They usually have some pretty amazing deals.