1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

"cutting through" Ashdown mag300 evo

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Nowhereboy, Mar 13, 2013.

1. Nowhereboy

Nowhereboy

Mar 3, 2013
    Hey folks, as some of you know I recently bought an ashdown mag 300 stack. Its my first proper bass amp and Im a guitarist so its pretty hard to give an opinion on it to be honest, obviously ive not paid any attention to bass amps before so I have nothing to compare it too.

Anyway, with that said I like it, it looks stunning and sounds smooth, it doesn't leave me in awe at awsome tone or anything but it will certainly do the job.

I could do with a lesson on bass tone, how to cut through, what sort of sound I should be going for in my band etc. Yesterday I jammed with the lads and noticed that the nice thick tone I like when playing alone sounds like **** alongside these

[​IMG]

Another pic of my rig....

[​IMG]

Any advice would be appreciated, Im finding it pretty hard to find much info on this amp online. If anyone has this amp and knows some nice settings that would be sweet!

Heres some demos of my band to give you an idea what sort of tone i might need

2. Nice demos. Interesting blend of styles. The bass pops out of the mix nicely.

Play with fingers for starters. You want to be getting a good fleshy grip closer to the bridge than the neck.

I don't know the knobs or where "true flat" is on your amp but boost your upper mids. Possibly cut the lowest lows if you're playing loud.

I hope you find something approaching your aweome tone without having to buy another amp. There is way more tone in the fingers than most beginners realise.

3. Nowhereboy

Nowhereboy

Mar 3, 2013