1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Cycle of 5ths/4ths

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by tyb507, Oct 21, 2013.

1. I'm not a Berklee Prof, so forgive me if it's inappropriate to jump in. I don't know the term "cycle fourths", and I'm not much of a jazzer, but I wouldn't put too much stock in comments on youtube vids!

The pattern after 2:30 in the video is (I think) not triads jumping up fourths, rather perfect fourths starting on E. E-A-D-(down to)G-C(down to)F-Bb-Eb-(down to)Ab...etc.
    Would one call that stacking fourths?

2. Burwabit

Burwabit Likes guitars that tune good and firm feelin women Supporting Member

Apr 4, 2011
    Lubbock, TX
    what vid are you referring to?

3. White Beard

White Beard

Feb 12, 2013
    Since there is no link to a video, I'm just going to talk some theory on the circle of fifths, which is usually what guitar dudes are talking about when they say "cycle of fourths." Circle of fifths and circle of fourths fundamentally the same material, just one moves through the keys one way the other goes the other way around.

While the circles of fifths and fourths aren't advanced music theory lessons, it is necessary to know, the fundamentals of pitch in music first. You need to understand what a half step and a whole step are, and note names and where those notes are on your fingerboard (fretboard).

Every fret on the neck of a bass guitar is a half step, therefore every two frets are a whole step.

Having said that, one must also know that the major scale is produced by playing a fixed set of steps. A Whole step, followed by a whole step, then a half step, whole step, whole step, whole step, half step. In the key of C Major, this would be C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C. Whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half.