Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Da Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by agcarver, Sep 15, 2004.

1. agcarver

agcarver

Sep 14, 2004
    Hi all, I'm a newbie, and proud of it. I've read through some of the newbie info and had some questions on a few basses. I'm looking on the $300-$500 range, $$'s tight ya know. I used to have a Warckick Rockbass, which I loved and sold cuz I was stupid, so I'm looking for something different just for a change. Anyhow, I was looking at the Peavey Grind series, there aren't really any reviews, does anyone have an opinion? I'm also looking at the Cort Curbow models, possibly some Spector models. I also found a Tobias Pro 5 used. But after what I've heard, I'm a bit hesitant about the electronics. Is it the PU's or the preamp? If anyone has any opnions on what I've listed or any other ideas it would be appreciated. :help:

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

At the upper end of your price range, I would look at the MTD Kingston. A lot better bass than most of the ones that you have mentioned. Another great choice would be a G&L Tribute L2000 or L2500, but they are a little over $500.

If you are considering used, that really opens up a lot of options. Lakland 44-01 or 55-01, Fender Jazz Geddy Lee, MTD Heir, Fender USA P bass, etc.

The electronics in the Korean Tobias basses are the weak point. The wood is good quality, and the basses are pretty well made. If you can live with the stock tone and output, they are a good value. If you can't, you would have to invest in a new preamp at least, and possibly some new pickups.

3. agcarver

agcarver

Sep 14, 2004