DAddario Chrome flat wounds surprised this round wound player

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Green Lantern, Aug 11, 2016.

1. Green Lantern

Green Lantern

Nov 3, 2011
    PA
    I have been playing bass for over 25 years, finally broke down and bought my first set of flat strings. I'm more into modern jazz, and rock music that is more of Fleetwood Mac, Beatles, R&B.
    I have to admit I really like the sound I'm getting with my five string Fender Jazz bass and Aguilar bass amp.

I always liked the modern bright sound of roundwound strings, and thought that flat wound would be sort of thumpy and lifeless. But I have not found that to be the case. Really enjoy the sound I'm getting, and encourage you round wound string players to try it.

The reason I never went to flat wounds is that I never wanted to have a dead dull sound on the bass. I always liked a brighter sound. These Chome flats are not dull but have a nice clear sound. Perfect strings to try for is round wound players. These strings are staying on my bass for a long time

Last edited: Aug 11, 2016
    TC.65, aaronious and Remyd like this.
  2. AaronVonRock

AaronVonRock

Feb 22, 2013
    Bangkok
    They will get duller sounding the longer they are on there (which I like). Chromes actually sound quite bright when first put on and stay that way for a month or so for me.

3. aaronious

aaronious

May 23, 2011
    Denver CO
    Just give it a few weeks, you'll be singing a different song. Lol.

AaronVonRock likes this.
  4. btmpancake

btmpancake Gold Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2015
    Apollo beach, Florida