1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. We are aware of an issue affecting search results for classifieds searches and advanced search functions.  Actively working on a fix, thanks for your patience!

D'Addario EXL160S Nickel Wound Bass Guitar Strings, Medium, 50-105, Short Scale

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Knavery, Jul 2, 2017.

1. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Westminster, CO
    Hey guys,
    I just bought a short scale Birdsong Sadhana. I'm looking for the best strings for the type of music I play. I've been playing for 25 years and always just for what was available--probably mostly round wounds. I play mostly funk and rock/heavy rock. Would these string fit best? I'm about to hit the order button. :)

2. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Inactive Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    The Brains: FretNation.com
    Not all short scale basses accept short scale Strings.

The heavier gauges are more preferred to many players of short scale basses... This is one of the few rounds that are 50-105

3. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Westminster, CO
    What do you suggest based on the style of music I play? I have no other information to provide other than that. Thanks.

4. SLaPiNFuNK

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    Nickel rounds are the most versatile. No problem there... Just want to ensure correct fitment. Measure ball end to nut. If less than 32" then these will fit.

Anything else is going to be darker and warmer sounding... Or lower tension.

5. staurosjohn likes this.
  6. SLaPiNFuNK

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    staurosjohn likes this.
  7. This is a good thing for a short scale as they don't get too loose and floppy.

8. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Westminster, CO