Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

D'Addarios are that bad?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by justinmj, Jul 29, 2001.

1. justinmj

justinmj

Jul 29, 2001
    I'm a long-time pro electric player, occasional URB player just now getting my first bass. I've decided it's time to own one and stop borrowing my friend's for sessions, so that I can actually get into some lessons and practice time.I've been able to get some amazing advice from Bob Gollihur along with the new bass I'm buying from him. I just wanted to see if anyone else here could supply me with some opinions on strings, specific to my situation:

I play pizz 98% of the time, doing mostly folk, blues, country, and latin. I like good pizz sustain, a rich and deep fundamental, and would like to have a good deal of volume because of competing with loud musicians I work with. I would also like to have strings that are relatively low tension for my weak-ass hands. I happen to endorse D'Addario strings in the electric world, so they offered me whatever I want in terms of their double bass line. However, after scouring this forum, there doesn't seem to be too much love for their stuff.

Based on my info, which do you guys think I should try out from the D'Addario world, since I can get 'em free? Bob suggested Orchestral to me, because of the darkness of their sound, though I don't want the bass to sound TOO old school. D'Addario themselves suggested Hybrid mediums to me, but people seem to be overall not too down with those. Which tension do you think?

And lastly, once I try the D'Addarios, where should I go from there?

Thank you VERY much for your help.