Daisy Chain with Speakon

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by atldeadhead, Feb 26, 2004.

1. atldeadhead

Jun 17, 2002
    I've never used mutiple cabs before. Can I do this?

I've got an SWR SM500 that I'd like to run bridged mono into 2 Aguilar GS 112's. They are both 8 ohms so by daisy chaining them I'd have a total load of 4 ohms. This is what I want, that way I can get the total amount of power the 500 will produce.

My question is about the speaker cables I have. Tell me if this is an acceptable way to daisy chain the cabainets.

I have one cable (A) that has a speakon on one end and a 1/4" plug on the other end. I had been using this cable to go from my SWR to my Hartke 4.5xl. I have another cable (B) that has a speakon on both ends. It's the speakon cable that came with my SWR.

I'd like to run cable A from the SWR into the 1/4" input of GS112 (A). From there I'd like to use cable B, the speakon cable, to go from GS112 (A) into GS112 (B).

I don't *think* there's anything wrong with doing it this way but I want to make sure so I don't damage any of my equipment.

Can I do this?

2. the only thing that would hold this setup back is if the speakon connectors are not wired in parallel with the .250" jacks. this is highly unlikely, however. you won't damage any of your equipment this way. the worst that could happen is that the second GS-112 cabinet doesn't produce any sound. but that is highly unlikely.

3. atldeadhead

Jun 17, 2002
    Anybody know if the jack's are all wired in parallel?
  4. reddavid

Oct 11, 2001
    Wayne, PA
    not sure about the wiring, but i would think again about the impedence...from another thread:

If the cabs are in series, you just add the impedances. Eg 8 + 8 =
    16. That's why most amps/cabs don't have the speakers in series,
    adding a second cab makes the setup quieter!

So, most cabs are in parallel. The general case for parallel cabs of
    impedance A and B: (A x B) / (A + B)