Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Daisy chaining question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by RobOtto, Aug 22, 2002.

1. RobOtto

RobOtto

Aug 15, 2002
    Denton, TX
    First of all forgive my ignorance on all of this but I have been running a combo amp for a couple years so I never had to worry about any of this.

My question is this: I have a Hartke 3500 head. It has two outputs, each marked 8 ohms. I have 2 bass cabs. One is a Hartke 115XL and the other is a Gens Benz 2x10. Both are rated at 8 ohms and both have two 1/4 in. jacks marked 'input.'

To daisychain I need to connect these two cabs but how is that possible if they only have inputs on them and no outputs?

Also, if I connect each cab to one of the two outputs from my amp is it getting 8 ohms or 4 ohms of resistance?

This is all very perplexing to me. I bought the Hartke used so I am without manual and I want to make sure I am getting the most out of this rig that I can.

I'll ask about "compression" in another post.

Any help is much appreciated,

RobOtto

2. Stu L.

Stu L. Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2001
    Corsicana, Texas
    Hey Rob, welcome to TB. Denton is a nice place, you going to school up there?

Anywho, I don't use Hartke. But with most systems, you would just connect from the amp into cab #1, and use the other jack (marked input in this case) to connect cab #2. Connected this way, your amp would see 4ohms.

If you connect one cab to each output from the amp, the amp will only see 8ohms per channel, as that is what the cab's are.

Again, I don't use Hartke, but I'd try the first option, as you will get 4ohms.

Can someone back me up on this?

3. jobu3

jobu3 Artist formerly known as Big Joe

Feb 17, 2002
    Mountain Top, PA