1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Damaged Scratchplate - Other Issues?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Eis_Nine, Nov 28, 2018.

1. Eis_Nine

Eis_Nine

Nov 26, 2018
    I've had my eye on a Fender 50s precision bass, but couldn't find it locally so I bought it online and it arrived today. I got it all tuned and took it for a test ride and I am really enjoying it. However, upon closer inspection I noticed that the anodized scratch plate is already gouged at the truss rod! I'm thinking someone must have made a last minute truss adjustment without taking the neck off.

Does this seem unusual? Or perhaps more significantly, could this be indicative of any other or bigger issue with the bass? It has fret buzz from the 12th fret up on E and A strings. I'm a relatively new bassist so I have to admit I don't know exactly what to look for in a "good" bass and I've heard MIMs vary.

It's from Guitar Center, so I could return or exchange it for any reason. Would love to get some other perspectives!

The scratch plate:

The bass:

2. LkS

LkS

Oct 30, 2013
    EU, Slovakia
    A scratch on a scratch plate!? I'd return it!
    jk :) It shouldn't really indicate any issue with the bass. Measure and adjust neck relief, string height and intonation the way it's supposed to be done and you'll see if anything's wrong. If you don't know how, have some one else take a look at it.

LowActionHero and gebass6 like this.
  3. Maxdusty

Maxdusty

Mar 9, 2012
    Michigan USA