Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Damn, I Can't Hear The Low End

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kalo, May 13, 2005.

1. kalo

kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    Okay guys,

Now I really know that I must be a guitarist at heart and this is no offense to bass players....

I've got some cover songs that I need to learn bass lines to...
    No problem because as a former guitarist I am able to transcribe solo's note per note because of this cool software I have...Sooo, learning bass lines should be easy right?

WRONG :eyebrow: Okay, let's face it root notes in eight or sixteen time is easy....But more elborate songs are a little tougher...

I am NOT used to hearing the low end!!! I believe my problem is that my computer and doesn't really have great Equalization so that I can't just filter out the low end part...

Is there anything out there that I can get to bring in more of the low frequencies? I wish there was software kind of like mixing software that can help....I might just end up getting a small mixer board....

I feel embrassed because seriously, I have a tuff time with hearing the low end...But yet I can pick out all the guitar solos...DAMN, I am embrassed...But I won't give up....

Any suggestions? Thanks, Kalo!

2. GSPLBASSDC

GSPLBASSDC

Jan 25, 2005
    Phoenix, AZ
    If you're learning from a cd, then I'd suggest a Tascam CDBTMKII. It's a cd playback machine that lets you plug your bass in and play along..either cutting out the bass part on the cd so you can play, or boosting the bass so you can hear better. I've had mine for about 2 1/2 months now and it's helped me learn tunes so much faster!

3. kalo

kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    Well one of the songs (please don't laugh) that I had a tuff time with is Simple Man (can't spell) by Lynard Skynard...