Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Danelectro Batteries???

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kcdbass, Apr 10, 2002.

1. kcdbass

kcdbass

Feb 27, 2002
    New Jersey
    Former Sales/Web, Sadowsky Guitars
    i just saw danelectro 9V batteries in the last issue of musician's friend ... the ad copy that accompanies the product reads more or less like this:

"ordinary 9V batteries are great for some things but they have a nasty habit of ruining guitar tone."

are they kidding? a danelectro 9V will make an effects box sound better than an energizer???

is that possible??? does anyone know the answer to this ... or should i call "the psychic hotline?"

i'm pretty skeptical ... although being a graphic artist by trade, i will say it's an attractively designed battery.

:)

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

I'm beyond skeptical, kcd. Any company that passes off reconstituted beer cans as "effects units" with names like "Tuna Melt," "Hot Pastrami," "Jeffrey Dahmer's Lunch," et al, has no cred with me.

This is just second hand info., but the word I heard on them is;

- those batteries are supplied with those pitiful effects. Many who bought those units, (i.e., guitarists) have been advised to rip them out and replace the with good Duracells/Energizers because the Dans are off-brand, leak-prone, Japanese batteries

- they're cheap because Danelectro pedals go through batteries like Tic-Tacs

As usual, less money appears to buy less. :rolleyes:

3. Paul A

Paul A

Dec 13, 1999
    Hertfordshire U.K!
    Yep,
    It's crap ..... 9 volts is 9 volts , no matter what flavour or wrapper it comes in.
    Another urban myth I'm afraid :rolleyes:

4. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany