Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Danelectro

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by maillotjaune, Jun 21, 2001.

1. maillotjaune

maillotjaune Guest

Jun 16, 2001
    Milwaukee
    Has anyone used the Danelctro Nifty 70 bass amp? If its not that great what are some other godd newbie amps under $200. I'm just starting out and it seems like a good deal.

2. captainpabst

captainpabst

Mar 18, 2001
    Tennessee
    i tried that vox 25w amp in the store the other day and liked it. plenty loud and decent tone. i think it's just a little over 200.

3. I didn't like the Dano stuff at all...seems really "novelty" for lack of a better term. The Nifty70 just sounded to me like a speaker stuck in a lunchbox. I agree totally with Captainpabst the VOX 25 watter kicks! I couldn't get over how full and loud it was for such a little amp not to mention it looks as good as it sounds.

4. CamMcIntyre

CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    USA
    Depends what you want it for e.g. a decorative item i think Dano gear is great-i know this sounds really dumb but it has a nice look but in my experience the bulk of the stuff is on the low end of decent. For around $200 Fender BassMan 25. I'm a fenderholic though so i'm kinda biased :D

Edit:BassMan 25 is like $270 from MF-thus possibly making it outta your range.

5. xHarperx

xHarperx

May 8, 2001
    Fender.. smender....crender.....bender....= crap!

6. captainpabst

captainpabst

Mar 18, 2001
    Tennessee
    yeah, i think the bassman 25 is a little over $200 most places. to be honest, i think i like the vox better than most small amps i've tried (fender, peavy, trace). it's all about YOUR ears though.