Dave Holland Quintet - Not For Nothin' and Keith Jarret - Up For It

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by Aaron Saunders, Jul 4, 2005.

1. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    I picked up these two and MJQ (my first MJQ record, WOW) and I've gotta say, I'm really digging these guys. One question though -- do all recent ECM releases within the last couple years have a little bit of silence on the first 5-8 seconds of the first track, or is it just these two? Was it some random ECM employee who thought "Hmm, what can we do to make the 'ECM sound' more noticeable?" I do not understand.

However, these are both awesome records...certainly not a fan of the $25 price tag on the Keith Jarret, but still excellent. These are also my initiation to...everyone playing on these records. I've been hearing about Dave Holland, Percy Heath, Jack Dejohnette, Milt Jackson, etc., but this is my first time actually hearing these guys play and...wow! Any other particular recordings you'd reccomend from any of the groups here? I'd prefer smaller ensembles, I don't really dig the sound of big band as much (especially modern big band -- no offense to Mr. Holland.)
  2. larry

larry Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2004
    If you are looking for more small-group Keith Jarret, you'll probably really like his trio recordings with Jack Dejohnette and Gary Peacock. There's some DVD's out there as well.
  3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Mmm, this was one of two of the trio recordings at the store -- I picked this one up because I love several of the tunes on it (If I Were A Bell, My Funny Valentine, and Autumn Leaves specifically) compared to the other one, which I wasn't very familiar with. I'd love to pick up the DVD...but I keep spending way too much money on albums and DVDs right now. I'll definitely have to earmark the DVD mentioned here and by Chris in the other topic.