Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

David Eden Problem - Need Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by nede, Aug 1, 2003.

1. nede

nede

Aug 1, 2003
    Hello, I purchased a David Eden DC-210XLT Combo Metro approx. 5 months ago (brand new).....I believe it is suppose to push 400 watts but this is my problem.

I noticed within the first few weeks that it was not pushing anywhere close to 400 watts. I recently jammed with some folks and the guitarist had a 4x10 Marshall...I had the Gain and Master volume at Max and it barely kept up. This can't be!!!!!
    It did not matter if it was in the solid state or tube side..still quiet.

As I said this is pretty much a brand new amp and it seems to be pushing maybe 100 watts. What gives?

Im not sure if this matters but when you pull the gain knobs out a little, the tone gets quieter. Is that right? Im still new to the amp.

This is not my first amp ( i've had Gallien Krueger, Acoustic, etc.) so i do know what 400 watts is suppose to sound like and what 100 watt amps sound like. This Eden is not performing at a 400 watt amp level.

If anybody could help it would be greatly appreciated. I am calling the tech line tomorrow but thought I would run in by you kind folks.
    I have a 2003 Ernie Ball Music Man Stingray.
    (brand new battery).....it's not the bass

Thank you for reading!!!
    - A concerned Eden owner

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Does it have 4 ohm or 8 ohm internal speakers? If it is set up with 8 ohms, it is only putting out 200 watts.

3. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    I have a question. How many watts was the guitarist using? General rule is that you need twice the speakers cabs and at least 4 times the number of watts, more if possible. Any less that that and you willl always struggle to be heard.